Between the Layers

If you live in the span of earth between Charlotte and Greensboro, you probably saw a gray sky for most of today. Overcast, dreary, even downright dismal is what you could label the conditions.

Guess what.

You’ve been tricked–the sky was actually painted with the most marvelous shades of blue.

I would have claimed the sky to be gray as well had it not been for the vantage point from which I was able to observe this display of hues. At lunchtime, I was in the Charlotte airport, and the sky threatened to spit rain. Before I knew it, I was in the air on my way home. We ascended into the clouds, breaking through the first strata, and my eyes had to re-adjust. Sunlight flooded through my tiny window that revealed a view to which I had nothing to compare. It was like being in the blue icing layer of a white cake. I was sandwiched in between two fluffy layers of cotton, surrounded by innumerable hues of blue–from barely blue, to carolina to new baby boy and every blue in between.

My blue view was such a reminder that the way we see the world is entirely different than the way God sees it. It’s easy for me to walk around and see only gray, forgetting that blue exists above it. It’s easy for me to become burdened by multifaceted problems, frustrated when things don’t go the way I think they should, to feel, at times, like I’m working towards nothing.

I’ve been learning that viewing life with God’s lenses puts everything into a different perspective. When I ask to see the world the way He sees it, problems become a reason to hope, frustrations become a reason to trust, and work becomes meaningful, not because I’m the one doing it, but because through it, I get to glorify God. I guess I’m learning about faith–what it means to be assured of the things unseen, like blue skies behind the gray ones.

One thought on “Between the Layers

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.